After a historic provincial election that took nearly two months to resolve, the new BC Premier John Horgan and his BC NDP minority government were officially sworn in.

Lieutenant Governor Judith Guichon, the Queen’s representative in BC, swore in 57-year-old Horgan and his cabinet at Government House in Victoria on Tuesday.

He replaces Christy Clark as premier and ends 16 years of B.C. Liberal rule in the province.

Swearing-in Ceremony July 18, 2017

Starting today, we will deliver a government that works for people. We’re going to work hard every day to build a better BC.

Posted by John Horgan on Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Premier John Horgan also announced his new cabinet today. It is made up of 20 ministers and two ministers of state.

In addition, six MLAs have been named as parliamentary secretaries.

Premier Horgan’s cabinet is the first gender balanced cabinet in British Columbian history, with 10 women named to cabinet and one named minister of state.


The full cabinet is as follows:

  • Premier – Hon. John Horgan
  • Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Training – Hon. Melanie Mark
  • Minister of Agriculture – Hon. Lana Popham
  • Attorney General – Hon. David Eby
  • Minister of Children and Family Development – Hon. Katrine Conroy
  • Minister of State for Child Care – Hon. Katrina Chen
  • Minister of Citizens’ Services – Hon. Jinny Sims
  • Minister of Education – Hon. Rob Fleming
  • Minister of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources – Hon. Michelle Mungall
  • Minister of Environment and Climate Change Strategy – Hon. George Heyman
  • Minister of Finance and Deputy Premier – Hon. Carole James
  • Minister of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations, and Rural Development – Hon. Doug Donaldson
  • Minister of Health – Hon. Adrian Dix
  • Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation – Hon. Scott Fraser
  • Minister of Jobs, Trade, and Technology – Hon. Bruce Ralston
  • Minister of State for Trade – Hon. George Chow
  • Minister of Labour – Hon. Harry Bains
  • Minister of Mental Health and Addictions – Hon. Judy Darcy
  • Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing – Hon. Selina Robinson
  • Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General – Hon. Mike Farnworth
  • Minister of Social Development and Poverty Reduction – Hon. Shane Simpson
  • Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture – Hon. Lisa Beare
  • Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure – Hon. Claire Trevena
Parliamentary secretaries
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Emergency Preparedness – Jennifer Rice
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Poverty Reduction – Mable Elmore
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Seniors – Anne Kang
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Sport and Multiculturalism – Ravi Kahlon
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Technology – Rick Glumac
  • Parliamentary Secretary for TransLink – Bowinn Ma

👋 Subscribe to the Victoria Buzz newsletter to receive the latest news, events and more directly to your inbox. Every weekday.