(Image / City of Nanaimo Facebook)

BC Premier John Horgan has called a byelection for the Nanaimo electoral district, scheduling it for Wednesday, Jan. 30th, 2019.

The byelection was prompted after the seat became vacant late last year. MLA Leonard Krog resigned the provincial seat on Nov. 30, 2018, and was elected mayor of Nanaimo back in October 2018.

Nominations for candidates can be filed with the Chief Electoral Officer until 1 p.m. on January 9th.

On election day, residents of the Nanaimo electoral district can cast their ballots at voting stations or the Nanaimo district electoral office between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m.

Alternatively, advanced voters can cast their ballots through the mail if they request a package from the electoral office or Election BC’s website.

Advanced voting will also be available for six days from Jan. 22nd to 27th.

Voting station locations will be posted soon on the Elections BC website and on Where to Vote cards that will be sent to Nanaimo residents before advance voting begins.


Four major political parties have expressed interest in the seat.

For the NDP, federal MP Sheila Malcolmson is in the running for the party, while local businessman Tony Harris is acting as the BC Liberals’ candidate. Meanwhile, retired Nanaimo teacher Michele Ney has been delcared the BC Green Party candidate.

The BC Conservative party is also in the running with a yet to be announced candidate.

According to Elections BC, eligible voters have yet to register have until midnight tonight to register or update their information online. Otherwise, voters can still register but only in person at voting stations.