(Justin Trudeau/Facebook)

Despite the Conservative Party winning the popular vote, the Liberal Party has formed a minority government with 155 seats in the House of Commons. 

In spite of their win, this still comes as a loss for the Liberals, who will now occupy far fewer seats than the 184 they secured in the 2015 elections. While in office, the Liberals will have to negotiate support from another party in order to pass any legislation.

See also:

Opposition Conservative party members have secured 122 seats, the Bloc Québécois has 32, the NDP has 25, the Green Party has 3, and there is one Independent MP.

At around 9:30 p.m., United States President Donald Trump tweeted his congratulations to Liberal Party leader and incumbent Prime Minister Justin Trudeau — with whom he has previously had a tense relationship.

“Canada is well served,” wrote President Trump. “I look forward to working with you toward the betterment of both of our countries!”

Trudeau garnered a massive 50.8 per cent of the vote in his district, followed by NDP candidate Christine Paré with 19.2 per cent of the vote.

All federal party leaders secured seats in their ridings with the exception of People’s Party of Canada leader Maxime Bernier, who lost his seat in Beauce, Quebec with only 28.7 per cent of the vote.

Green Party leader Elizabeth May came out victorious in her riding of Saanich-Gulf Islands, and Andrew Scheer held on to his seat in Regina-Qu’Appelle with 64 per cent of the vote.

NDP leader Jagmeet Singh has also won his riding of Burnaby South with 37.3 per cent of the vote.

We know this city. You should too. 👊

We uncover the best of the city and put it all in an email for you!