Grants from the federal and provincial governments have enabled multiple Vancouver Island municipalities to install over two dozen new electric vehicle charging stations.

In a statement released Tuesday, the Ministry of Environment and Climate Change Strategy announced that the Regional District of Nanaimo, in partnership with 11 local and regional governments, will install a total of 28 Level 2 electric vehicle charging stations on the island.

“Expanding electric vehicle stations across Vancouver Island will make clean transportation options more viable to more people,” said Catherine McKenna, federal Minister of Infrastructure and Communities, in a statement.

“Encouraging green energy solutions like this is essential to building strong resilient communities. Canada’s infrastructure plan invests in thousands of projects, creates jobs across the country and builds stronger communities.”

These installations will expand the current network of EV chargers in the Nanaimo and Parksville area, as well as communities like Courtenay, Comox, Cumberland, Campbell River, Tofino and Ucluelet, among others.

The project is being funded through $230,000 from the Province’s CleanBC Communities Fund, $275,000 from the federal government’s Green Infrastructure Stream of the Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program, and participating local governments together investing more than $183,000.

The locations selected for the charging stations are based on public demand, according to the province.

Here are the municipalities/regions that will be getting new EV charging stations:

  • Regional District of Nanaimo (10 stations)
    • Locations will include: Lantzville, Nanaimo, Parksville (three stations), Qualicum Beach, Electoral Area B (Decanso Bay Regional Park), Electoral Area E (Nanoose Place Community Centre), Electoral Area G (French Creek Marina), Electoral Area H (Lighthouse Community Hall)
  • City of Nanaimo (four stations)
  • Comox Valley Regional District (four stations)
  • City of Courtenay (three stations)
  • Town of Comox (one station)
  • City of Cumberland (two stations)
  • City of Campbell River (one station)
  • Resort Municipality of Ucluelet (two stations)
  • District of Tofino (one station)

Once these stations are complete, there will be a total of 83 new Level 2 EV charging stations across B.C.

Subscribe to the Victoria Buzz newsletter to receive the latest news, events and more directly to your inbox. Every day.