Saanich Charging Station
(District of Saanich)

User fees will be implemented on Saanich’s public EV charging stations starting in January as the network expands.

The fees will be $1 per hour as of January 4, 2021, which the District of Saanich says will help alleviate congestion and recuperate energy and maintenance costs.

“In the public space, a nominal user fee will help promote turnover so more people can access charging stations, while still keeping the price of fueling EVs much lower than filling a gas-powered vehicle,” said Mayor Fred Haynes.

To also help with demand, the District says they will acquire and install 20 new public charging stations in 2021.

New Saanich stations will be located at:

  • Saanich Municipal Hall
  • Cedar Hill Golf Course
  • Cedar Hill Recreation Centre
  • Saanich Common Wealth Place
  • Pearkes Recreation Centre
  • Beckwith Park
  • Cadboro-Gyro Park
  • Hampton Park
  • Mount Douglas Park

Saanich’s current public charging network consists of 75 stations, including 12 level 2 EV chargers located at its four recreation centres, Cedar Hill Golf Course and Municipal Hall.

The District also has 20 charging stations that service its fleet of electric passenger vehicles.

Saanich is committed to corporate leadership, with 20 municipal fleet charging stations that service the District’s fully electrified fleet of passenger vehicles.

More information on electric vehicles and charging stations in Saanich is available online at


Get many more like it, straight to your inbox, every single day. We uncover the best of the city and put it all in an email for you!

Please select "I agree to get email updates" option.

Email field is required to subscribe.

We know this city. You should too. 👊