(Victoria Royals)

After awaiting Provincial Health Orders, the WHL has received the green light to play this season.

The BC division teams will open their season on Friday, March 26th and games will be played in one of two hub cities in Kamloops and Kelowna.

The Kamloops Blazers, Kelowna Rockets, Prince George Cougars, Vancouver Giants, and Victoria Royals will form the BC division.

The BC division will be the last of four divisions in the WHL to begin playing.

The WHL Central Division opened on February 26th, while the East Division Hub Center in Regina starts on March 12th and the U.S. Division begins playing on March 19th.

The Kamloops Blazers, Prince George Cougars, and Vancouver Giants will be based out of the Hub Centre in Kamloops; whereas, the Kelowna Rockets and Victoria Royals will be based out of the Hub Center in Kelowna.

The WHL’s B.C. Division will play a 24-game regular season, kicking off on Friday, March 26th with a full schedule to be announced at a later date.

WHL players and staff will be required to undergo COVID-19 testing upon arrival followed by an additional quarantine period and a second COVID-19 test before being permitted to engage in any team activity.

If a WHL Club has one or more players or staff test positive for COVID-19 at any point in the season, they will be required to suspend activities for a minimum of 14 days.

No spectators will be permitted to enter and watch the WHL games.

The WHL cancelled last year’s season due to COVID-19 on March 18th. The Victoria Royals had only four games left in their regular season play and had secured a spot in the 2020 WHL Playoffs, which were also cancelled.

👋 Subscribe to the Victoria Buzz newsletter to receive the latest news, events and more directly to your inbox. Every weekday.