Friday, February 23, 2024

Here’s who is running in the 2021 federal election on Vancouver Island


It’s official, Canadians will hit the polls on September 20th.

On Sunday, August 15th, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau visited Governor General Mary Simon at Rideau Hall where she accepted his request to dissolve the 43rd parliament and trigger an election.

The election will occur in 36 days—the shortest election time legally allowed.

The Liberal government is looking for a majority government after the 2019 election saw them lose the majority of seats to the Conservative and NDP governments.

Leaders of the major parties in Canada include current Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau, the leader of the Liberal party; Erin O’Toole, the leader of the Conservative Party; Jagmeet Singh, the leader of the New Democratic Party; and Annamie Paul, the leader of the Green Party.

The Conservative Party released their 160-page election platform this morning.

Campaign signs are already beginning to pop up around the Greater Victoria area with a few familiar faces running.


Liberal candidate Nikki Macdonald will run against incumbent MP Laurel Collins—the NDP’s environment and climate-change critic—and Nick Loughton of the Greens. As of Monday, a Conservative candidate had not yet been announced.


Doug Kobayashi is the federal Liberal candidate for the Esquimalt-Saanich-Sooke riding, which also includes Colwood, View Royal and Metchosin.

He is running against NDP candidate Randall Garrison and Green’s Harley Gordon.

Saanich-Gulf Islands

Elizabeth May is running once again, but not as Leader of the Green Party. She is running against Sherri Moore-Arbour for the Liberal Party, David Busch of the Conservative Party, and Sabina Singh for the NDP.


The NDP’s Alistair MacGregor will run against Liberal opponent Blair Herbert and Conservative Alana DeLong.

The Greens will choose between Nick Dickinson-Wilde, Lia Versaevel, and Shirley Lambrecht to determine their candidate.


Paul Manly, who won the seat for the Greens in 2019, will be running against the NDP’s Lisa Marie Barron, Liberal Michelle Corfield, and Tamara Kronis of the Conservatives.


New Democrat MP Gord Johns will run against Liberal Susan Farlinger, and Conservative Mary Lee.

North Island-Powell River

Rachel Blaney, the NDP MP, will run against Conservative opponent Shelley Downey, and Green candidate Jessica Wegg.

Read more

Latest Stories