Photo courtesy from Elections Canada Facebook page

While votes continue to be tallied in Canada’s 44th federal election, many ridings have already been determined or projected, including on Vancouver Island.

Like in 2019, Vancouver Island is seeing little change save the Nanaimo-Ladysmith riding where Green incumbent MP Paul Manly has dropped to third and now, Conservative MP Tamara Kronis is holding the lead and NDP Lisa Marie Barron is leading behind.

As predicted, an orange wave is currently sweeping Vancouver Island, with the NDP holding a strong lead.

In the Cowichan-Malahat-Langford riding NDP incumbent Alistair MacGregor has been re-elected for the third time since 2015.

NDP incumbent Randall Garrison has been re-elected in Esquimalt-Saanich-Sooke – he’s held this seat since 2011.

NDP incumbent Laurel Collins appears to be maintaining her seat in Victoria for the second time.

In the riding of Courtenay-Alberni, NDP MP Gord Johns has been re-elected and Rachel Blaney will be re-elected in the North Island-Powell River riding.

Former Green Party leader, Elizabeth May, has been re-elected in her riding of Saanich-Gulf Islands. She has held the seat since 2011.

Liberal party leader and incumbent Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has been re-elected in his electoral district of Papineau, Quebec and is being projected to lead a minority government similar to that of 2019.

See more: Liberal leader Justin Trudeau wins seat as party predicted to form minority government


Get many more like it, straight to your inbox, every single day. We uncover the best of the city and put it all in an email for you!

Please select "I agree to get email updates" option.

Email field is required to subscribe.

We know this city. You should too. 👊