Friday, July 19, 2024

BC Premier Eby revealed his cabinet members at Victoria’s Government House today


Premier David Eby announced his new cabinet and they were officially sworn-in by Lieutenant Governor, the Honourable Janet Austin.

The ceremony began with the lək̓ʷəŋən Traditional Dancers performing for attendees. Then the national anthem was sung and a blessing and welcoming was delivered by Songhees Nation Councillor, Maggie Charlie.

The Honourable Janet Ausin had all the new cabinet members recite an oath to the province and to the King before Premier Eby announced each individual cabinet member and their position. 

Premier Eby’s cabinet members are: 

  • David Eby – Premier
  • Pam Alexis – Agriculture and Food 
  • Niki Sharma – Attorney General
  • Mitzi Dean – Children and Family Development 
  • Lisa Beare – Citizens’ Services
  • Rachna Singh – Education and Child Care
  • Grace Lore – Minister of State for Child Care
  • Bowinn Ma – Emergency Management and Climate Readiness
  • Josie Osborne – Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation
  • George Heyman – Environment and Climate Change Strategy
  • Katrine Conroy – Finance (includes Columbia River Treaty)
  • Bruce Ralston – Forests, and Minister Responsible for Consular Corps
  • Adrian Dix – Health, and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs
  • Ravi Kahlon – Housing, and Government House Leader
  • Murray Rankin – Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation
  • Brenda Bailey – Jobs, Economic Development and Innovation
  • Jagrup Brar – Minister of State for Trade
  • Harry Bains – Labour
  • Jennifer Whiteside – Mental Health and Addictions
  • Anne Kang – Municipal Affairs
  • Selina Robinson – Post-Secondary Education and Future Skills (includes immigration/foreign credentials)
  • Andrew Mercier – Minister of State for Workforce Development
  • Mike Farnworth – Public Safety and Solicitor General (ICBC), and Deputy Premier
  • Sheila Malcolmson – Social Development and Poverty Reduction
  • Lana Popham – Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport
  • Rob Fleming – Transportation and Infrastructure (BC Transit and Translink)
  • Dan Coulter – Minister of State for Infrastructure and Transit
  • Nathan Cullen – Water, Land and Resource Stewardship (Fisheries)

Of these 23 cabinet ministers and four ministers of state, 13 are brand new to the cabinet table.

Premier Eby hopes that the mix of new energy and ideas combined with the cumulative experience of some returning cabinet ministers will benefit the province and its people.

“British Columbia is a wonderful place to live, but people are looking for action on the issues facing them and their families,” said Premier Eby. 

“If the pandemic taught us anything, it’s that we can’t solve these problems alone. We need to solve them together.” 

“My team of determined colleagues will use a wealth and variety of experiences to continue the good work we’ve started and go further to deliver results people can see and feel in their communities.”

Most notably, there are two new ministries in Premier Eby’s cabinet–the Ministry of Housing and the Ministry of Emergency Management and Climate Readiness.

Premier Eby’s cabinet is balanced in gender representation and he says that its diversity will only benefit British Coumbians. 

Curtis Blandy

Read more

Latest Stories