Tuesday, July 23, 2024

Add these two new Vancouver Island-related book releases to your must-read list

Share

Time to update your ‘must-read’ list!

It’s always exciting to find new books to add to the book bucket list, especially if they have ties to Vancouver Island—whether it’s the author or landmarks!

We’ve selected two new titles from separate publishers for you to check out, both full of adventure and promise. 

Crow Helps a Friend by Andrea Fritz

Local author and artist Andrea Fritz officially released the second book in the Coast Salish Tales series, Crow Helps a Friend this month! 

Similar to her first book in the series that came out in September 2023, Otter Doesn’t Know, this new tale shares the art, culture and language of the Hul’q’umi’num’-speaking Peoples.

In Crow Helps a Friend, Q’uleeq’e’ the crow tries to make up for her mistake in a tale about finding friendship and new beginnings through challenging experiences.

As described, accompanying the text will be stunning illustrations that follow the “Coast Salish art tradition of combining four basic shapes in both positive and negative spaces.”

As a part of Fritz’s book deal with Orca Book Publishers, she’ll have two more books released as a part of the series, so stay tuned!

The next book is titled Raven Gets Tricked, and will be available in September of this year. 

Fritz is from the Lyackson First Nation of the Hul’qumi’num speaking Peoples on the West Coast of Canada, and was born and raised in Victoria. Starting in her early grade-school years, she began her long and rewarding journey mastering West Coast Native art in the Victoria school district from Victor Newman (Kwagiulth).

You can view her artwork at the Eagle Feather Gallery and in large-scale murals throughout the Quadra Village area. Her website also features her prints for sale and announces any upcoming projects.

Crow Helps a Friend is available at local bookstores in and around Victoria, and you can also purchase them online through Orca. 

Orca Book Publishers is located in Victoria, and they just celebrated their 40th anniversary of bringing author visions to life and supporting the community!

(Crow Helps a Friend by Andrea Fritz)

Moon Road by Sarah Leipciger

Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Strout and Barbara Kingsolver, Moon Road by Sarah Leipciger is a beautifully observed portrait of marriage, divorce, and reconciliation.

The plot follows Kathleen and Yannick, an estranged couple, as they embark on a road trip from small-town Ontario to BC to finally lay to rest the mystery that pulled them apart.

This complex and captivating novel is said to encompass the wonderment and grief of seeing children grow up, as well as recovering from pain that has been long-wedged in our hearts.

And although Leipciger hails from Ontario and now lives in the UK, Moon Road will contain some recognizable landmarks and locations from Vancouver Island for you to discover through the characters’ eyes—Nanaimo and Tofino, to be exact!

Penguin Random House Canada is thrilled to present Leipciger’s third novel and hopes that audiences will find it as gripping as they have. 

Moon Road’s official release date is August 27th, available for purchase from local bookstores in and around Victoria once it becomes available.

If you wish to pre-order through Penguin Random House Canada’s website, you can do so.

In addition to being an accomplished writer, Leipciger is an Associate Lecturer in Creative Writing at Birkbeck University and also teaches at City Lit. 

Her short fiction has been shortlisted for the Asham Award, the Fish Prize, and the Bridport Prize. Her other novels include the critically acclaimed The Mountain Can Wait (2015) and Coming Up for Air (2020).

(Moon Road by Sarah Leipciger)

Read more

Latest Stories