Wednesday, July 24, 2024

3 Vancouver Island-authored books you will want to keep an eye out for

Share

Listen up, booklovers of Victoria, we’ve got some stellar titles for you to get excited about!

Penguin Random House Canada is thrilled to introduce audiences to three new novels that you’ll want to add to your to-read list. 

They all have set publication dates for late-summer and early-fall, so you have plenty of time to pre-order and start counting down the days.

You may even recognize a couple of the names!

Here are the three locally-authored books to keep an eye out for:

The Last Secret by Maia Caron

The Last Secret by Maia Caron intertwines two stories from two different time periods—a Ukrainian resistance fighter in 1944 Ukraine and a reclusive artist on Salt Spring Island in 1972, and their inextricable link to each other decades apart. 

This luminous and transporting novel is for readers of Kate Quinn, Heather Marshall and Genevieve Graham. Discover a story of love, hope and the unwavering resilience of women.

Caron is a Vancouver Island-based Indigenous writer and author of Song of Batoche, a historical novel that was a CBC must-read book for 2018. 

The Last Secret has a publication date set for the end of September, 2024!

The Last Secret by Maia Caron (Penguin Random House Canada)

Peggy by Rebecca Godfrey with Leslie Jamison

When Rebecca Godfrey passed away from lung cancer in 2022, she left behind a remarkable unfinished novel in the hands of one of her closest friends, the critically acclaimed author and journalist Leslie Jamison. 

The book followed the life of Peggy Guggenheim—a dazzling and legendary art collector and feminist icon, and is set in Venice in 1958.

Guggenheim’s journey is one of strength and growing into oneself to become a woman of fierce independence despite societal expectations.

Godfrey was born and raised on Vancouver Island, and was an award-winning novelist and journalist. Her published books include The Torn Skirt and Under the Bridge. 

The Torn Skirt was a finalist for the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, and the award-winning true-crime story Under the Bridge was adapted as a Hulu limited series starring Riley Keough as Rebecca Godfrey. 

If you wish to read about Jamison’s experience finishing her friend’s novel, which is both insightful and powerful, you can do so here

Peggy will be released in mid-August, 2024 and has already garnered widespread praise from critics and avid readers alike.

Peggy by Rebecca Godfrey (Penguin Random House Canada)

Bringer of Dust by J. M. Miro (a.k.a Steven Price)

Note that this is the second novel in a series, so if you’re not already familiar with the first novel, Ordinary Monsters, this may contain spoilers! 

Bringer of Dust by J.M. Miro is the second book in the Talents Trilogy and has been a highly-anticipated release since the first book came out in late-May of this year. 

The second book builds on the momentum captured in the first novel, in which Cairndale lies in ruins and Marlowe is missing. 

Follow Charlie and the Talents as they realize there is even more at stake than they’d feared when a body that contains the corrupted dust of the drughr is discovered. 

Miro (a.k.a. Steven Price) is an award-winning Victoria-based author and poet. His novels include By Gaslight and Lampedusa, as well as a couple poetry books.

He teaches poetry and fiction at the University of Victoria, and he lives with his wife Esi Edugyan—who is also an award-winning author for Half-Blood Blues and Washington Black

Bringer of Dust’s publication date is marked as September 17th, 2024.

Bringer of Dust by J.M. Miro (Penguin Random House Canada)

Read more

Latest Stories